Размер шрифта

Цвет сайта

Изображения

Звуковой ассесистент

Шрифт

History

I INTERNATIONAL THEATRE FESTIVAL «MELIKHOVSKAYA VESNA» 2000

MELIKHOVSKAYA SPRING. START.

In Melikhovo everything foreshadowed the theater. It was not for nothing that “The Seagull” and “Uncle Vanya” were written here, in the midst of Chekhov’s medical and everyday troubles, and so theater people were drawn here, and the text of Chekhov’s plays sounded so amazing at various readings, evenings, and meetings. But for a long time no one dared to give a real performance, realizing how difficult it was to play in the garden, in the open air, and what audacity it was to play Chekhov at his home.

The first to decide was a theater from the city of Lipetsk, which had recently staged “The Seagull” and came to see Melikhovo – and was fascinated by it. Then, at the invitation of the director of the museum, Yuri Avdeev, in agreement with the chief director of the theater, Vladimir Pakhomov, the Lipetsk people came again and on a gloomy June day in 1982 they played “The Seagull” at the estate.

Until now, readings, concerts, and performances had taken place on the veranda of Chekhov's house, but this was the first time that an entire play, and such a difficult one as “The Seagull,” was performed. It was raining, thunder was roaring, the wind was rustling in the trees, and the conventions of the theater seemed incompatible with this natural setting. The performance of the artists had to be as natural and truthful as the world around it. The first two acts took place on the estate, by the pond, the next two - on the veranda of the house. Once upon a time, on this very veranda, Chekhov read “The Seagull” to his friends for the first time. Now on the veranda the life of Chekhov's heroes was recreated. It was a test of truth, and the theater passed it. Thus came the experience of merging the museum with the theater, and there is a deep meaning in this.

Yuri Avdeev


The Lipetsk residents played, surrounded on all sides by the public. Spectators came from Moscow, from the city of Chekhov, and gathered from the Melikhovo environs. We came with families, with children; We stood and sat on wet benches under umbrellas for several hours; they looked and listened tensely and greedily, as if they were playing an unfamiliar, new play. They looked with anticipation and anxiety, wanting to know and fearing not recognizing Chekhov here. And they found out...


Perhaps the authenticity of Chekhov’s house and garden, the whole “witchcraft” atmosphere of Melikhov did its job, penetrated inside the performance, nourished it. The actors in costumes from the end of the last century, sitting at ease in light country furniture, behaved as if there were no spectators next to them: they watched an amateur performance staged by the pond, explained themselves and quarreled, and were tormented by their problems. They were part of this world, and our spectator presence in it seemed almost illegal. We, as if remaining invisible, seemed to be spying on someone else's, long-past time; someone else's life going on at its own pace.

The experience of the Lipetsk theater was repeated and took place already in the spring, in May, from where both the history of the “Melikhovo Spring” and the new life of the Lipetsk Theater came from, for which Chekhov became the main author, companion and adviser. Every spring the theater came to Melikhovo with its next premiere.

Only then did we begin to realize what we had done - we realized Anton Pavlovich Chekhov’s dream of creating a theater here. And we promised Yuri Konstantinovich Avdeev that we would come here every spring. All these years, Chekhov has been the tuning fork of our creativity, our life, a surprisingly accurate and nervous tuning fork. We rallied and grew up with Chekhov. We study his life, everything connected with it. We go to Melikhovo to breathe in its air.

Vladimir Pakhomov

INTERNATIONAL FESTIVAL. 2000 - 2014

At the end of the last century, the Melikhovo theater became a desirable place for creative exploration and meetings, its fame grew, and the need for some kind of large-scale solution, a new step, was brewing. And since 2000, from solo tours of the Lipetsk theater, “Melikhovo Spring” has grown into a full-fledged festival - “annual, international, Chekhov,” according to the formula of its creator, then director Melikhov Yuri Bychkov. His risky and happy idea paid off; moreover, it benefited the museum-reserve, the entire Chekhov community, and theaters, which are so eager to make contacts these days.


The festival developed quickly. Its geography grew, covering all of Russia, from Vologda to Taganrog, from St. Petersburg - through the Volga region and Siberia - to the Far East. From the first envoy from abroad, the modest Milanese theater “Na Doganke”, the circle of participants in the “Melikhovo Spring” quickly expanded, incorporating many European countries, Japan, and the countries of the post-Soviet space, most of all Ukraine.

Theatres-friends, theater-satellites of the festival, frequent or even permanent guests of the festival appeared. For example, the Russian Drama Theater from Odessa and the Chamber Theater from Madrid came here more than once or twice. Anton Chekhov, and the Lviv Theater. Maria Zankovetskaya, where director Alla Babenko prepares a new performance based on Chekhov’s prose every year - and the premiere takes place right here, in Melikhovo.

Something attracts them here: is it the charm of Melikhovo’s nature; the tangible, albeit invisible, presence of Chekhov; the special atmosphere of the festival, with its spirit of informal communication, without any hierarchy of genres and types of theater? - Apparently, all at once. Here you can see operas and ballets, performances for children and those where children play, students' theses and experiments of the International Chekhov Laboratory. Strict classics coexist with “new forms”, and through the festival’s performances one can see not only the state of Chekhov’s theater, but also the entire theatrical process.

With all the breadth and freedom of choice, “Melikhovo Spring” still has its own traditions, dictated by the place of action. The main one: only Chekhov, his plays and prose, performances about himself. And – the indispensable presence of “The Seagull”, this symbol of Chekhov’s theater.

The most important constant of the International Theater Festival “Melikhovo Spring” is its location. In Melikhovo, groups of invited theaters have the opportunity to visit Chekhov’s creative laboratory, to come into spiritual contact with Chekhov’s world - to play in the estate where “The Seagull” and “Uncle Vanya” were written. Every year, the performances of the next “Melikhovo Spring” create a theatrical panorama that stretches into infinity.

Yuri Bychkov


“Melikhovo Spring” seemed to awaken the theatrical nature of Chekhov’s estate. New events not only for Melikhov began to take place there - for example, the anniversaries of the great plays, “The Seagull” and “Uncle Vanya”.

Oleg Efremov, Yuri and Vitaly Solomin, Peter Stein and Tom Stoppard, the British, Greeks, Japanese went to Melikhovo - “to breathe in its air” -- you can’t count them all.


Since 2007, the International Theater Festival “Melikhovo Spring” has acquired a new team of organizers and a new format. Now only professional theaters are allowed to participate in the festival, and the Expert Council strictly selects the best performances from all submitted applications. Preference is given to premiere performances. Every year, for each specific festival, a unique concept is developed, arising either from calendar events or from the geography of participating theaters. Another important difference of the new “Melikhovo Spring” was the opportunity to invite large-scale performances, since the festival began to actively cooperate with large stage venues in the Southern Moscow region.

The role of the viewer in the festival process has become more significant. The festival becomes not just an internal event of the museum and theater. Thanks to the use of new ways to attract audiences (the uniqueness of performances, interesting opening ceremonies, advertising in the media, etc.), the number of not only “ordinary” but also professional audiences began to increase significantly.


See also in section Melikhovskaya spring

Размер шрифта

Цвет сайта

Изображения

Звуковой ассесистент

Шрифт

История

I МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫЙ ТЕАТРАЛЬНЫЙ ФЕСТИВАЛЬ «МЕЛИХОВСКАЯ ВЕСНА» 2000

МЕЛИХОВСКАЯ ВЕСНА. НАЧАЛО.

В Мелихове всё предвещало театр. Недаром здесь, в гуще врачебных и житейских хлопот Чехова, были написаны «Чайка» и «Дядя Ваня», и так тянулись сюда люди театра, и так удивительно звучал текст чеховских пьес на разного рода чтениях, вечерах, встречах. Но дать настоящий спектакль долго никто не решался, понимая, как это трудно – играть в саду, на пленэре, и какая это дерзость – играть Чехова у него дома.

Первым решился театр из города Липецка, незадолго до того поставивший у себя «Чайку», заехавший поглядеть Мелихово – и очарованный им. Затем по приглашению директора музея Юрия Авдеева, по сговору его с главным режиссером театра Владимиром Пахомовым липчане приехали снова и в хмурый июньский день 1982 года сыграли на усадьбе «Чайку».

До сих пор на веранде чеховского дома проходили чтения, концерты, инсценировки, но целая пьеса, да еще такая трудная, как «Чайка», шла впервые. Накрапывал дождь, гремел гром, шумел ветер в деревьях, и с этой естественной обстановкой, казалось, несовместимы были условности театра. Игра артистов должна была быть такой же естественной и правдивой, как и окружающий ее мир. Первые два акта шли на усадьбе, у пруда, в следующие два – на веранде дома. Когда-то на этой самой веранде Чехов впервые читал «Чайку» друзьям. Теперь на веранде воссоздавалась жизнь чеховских героев. Это была проверка на правду, и театр ее выдержал. Так пришел опыт слияния музея с театром, и в этом заложен глубокий смысл.

Юрий Авдеев


Липчане играли, со всех сторон окру­женные публикой. Зрители приехали из Москвы, из города Чехова, собрались из мелиховских окрестностей. Приехали семьями, с детьми; несколь­ко часов под зонтами стояли и сидели на мокрых скамейках; смотрели и слушали напряженно и жадно, словно незнако­мую, новую для себя пьесу. Смотрели с ожиданием и тревогой, желая узнать и боясь не узнать здесь Чехова. И — узнали…


Быть может, подлинность чеховского дома и сада, всей «колдовской» атмосфе­ры Мелихова сделала свое дело, проникла внутрь спектакля, напитала его. Артисты в костюмах конца прошлого века, непринужденно расположившиеся в легкой дачной мебели, вели себя так, будто рядом с ними не было зрителей: смотрели любительский спектакль, разыгранный у пруда, объяснялись и ссорились, мучились своими проблемами. Они были частью этого мира, а наше, зрительское присут­ствие в нем казалось почти незаконным. Мы, как бы оставаясь незримыми, будто подсматривали чужое, давно минувшее вре­мя; чужую, своим ходом идущую жизнь.

Опыт липчан повторился и проходил уже весной, в мае, откуда и пошла как история «Мелиховской весны», так и новая жизнь Липецкого театра, для которого Чехов стал главным автором, спутником и советчиком. Каждую весну театр приезжал в Мелихово со своей очередной премьерой.

Только тогда мы начали осознавать, что сделали – реализовали мечту Антона Павловича Чехова создать здесь театр. И мы пообещали Юрию Константиновичу Авдееву, что будем приезжать сюда каждую весну. Чехов все эти годы – камертон нашего творчества, нашей жизни, камертон удивительно точный и нервный. Мы сплотились и выросли с Чеховым. Изучаем его жизнь, все, что с ней связано. Ездим в Мелихово, чтобы надышаться его воздухом.

Владимир Пахомов

МЕЖДУНАРОДНЫЙ ФЕСТИВАЛЬ. 2000 - 2014

В конце прошлого века театральное Мелихово становилось желанным местом для творческих поисков и встреч, известность его возрастала, и назревала необходимость какого-то масштабного решения, нового шага. И с 2000 года из сольных гастролей липецкого театра «Мелиховская весна» переросла в полноценный фестиваль – «ежегодный, международный, чеховский», по формуле его создателя, тогдашнего директора Мелихова Юрия Бычкова. Его рискованная и счастливая идея себя оправдала, более того – пошла на пользу и музею-заповеднику, и всему чеховскому сообществу, и театрам, которые в наши дни так стремятся к контактам.


Фестиваль развивался быстро. География его росла, охватив всю Россию, от Вологды до Таганрога, от Санкт-Петербурга – через Поволжье и Сибирь – до Дальнего Востока. От первого посланца зарубежья, скромного миланского театра «На Доганке», круг участников «Мелиховской весны» быстро расширился, вобрав в себя и многие страны Европы, и Японию, и страны постсоветского пространства, более всего – Украину.

Появились театры-друзья, театры-спутники фестиваля, частые или даже постоянные гости его. Сюда, к примеру, не раз и не два приезжали и Русский драматический театр из Одессы, и Камерный театр из Мадрида им. Антона Чехова, и львовский театр им. Марии Заньковецкой, где режиссер Алла Бабенко каждый год готовит новый спектакль по чеховской прозе – и премьера происходит именно здесь, в Мелихове.

Что-то притягивает их сюда: обаяние ли мелиховской природы; ощутимое, пусть незримое, присутствие Чехова; особая атмосфера фестиваля, с его духом неформального общения, без всякой иерархии жанров и типов театра? – Видимо, все сразу. Здесь можно увидеть оперы и балеты, спектакли для детей и те, где играют дети, дипломные работы студентов и опыты Международной Чеховской лаборатории. Строгая классика соседствует с «новыми формами», и через спектакли фестиваля видно не только состояние чеховского театра, но и весь театральный процесс.

При всей широте и свободе выбора в «Мелиховской весне» есть все же свои традиции, продиктованные местом действия. Главная из них: только Чехов, его пьесы и проза, спектакли о нем самом. И – непременное присутствие «Чайки», этого символа чеховского театра.

Важнейшая константа Международного театрального фестиваля «Мелиховская весна» - место его проведения. В Мелихове коллективы приглашенных театров получают возможность побывать в творческой лаборатории Чехова, войти в духовное соприкосновение с миром Чехова – играть в усадьбе, где были написаны «Чайка» и «Дядя Ваня». Каждый год спектакли очередной «Мелиховской весны» создают театральную панораму, уходящую в бесконечность.

Юрий Бычков


«Мелиховская весна» словно пробудила театральную природу чеховской усадьбы. В ней стали происходить новые не только для Мелихова события – к примеру, юбилеи великих пьес, «Чайки» и «Дяди Вани».

В Мелихово - «надышаться его воздухом» -- ездили Олег Ефремов, Юрий и Виталий Соломины, Петер Штайн и Том Стоппард, англичане, греки, японцы… всех не перечесть.


С 2007 года Международный театральный фестиваль «Мелиховская весна» обретает новую команду организаторов и новый формат. Теперь к участию в фестивале допускаются только профессиональные театры, осуществляется строгий отбор Экспертным советом лучших спектаклей из всех присланных заявок. Преимущество отдается премьерным спектаклям. Ежегодно для каждого конкретного фестиваля разрабатывается уникальная концепция, рождающаяся либо из календарных событий, либо из географии театров-участников. Еще одним важным отличием новой «Мелиховской весны» стала появившаяся возможность приглашать спектакли больших форм, поскольку фестиваль стал активно сотрудничать с большими сценическими площадками Южного Подмосковья.

Роль зрителя в процессе проведения фестиваля стала более значимой. Фестиваль становится не просто внутренним событием музея и театра. Благодаря использованию новых способов привлечения аудитории (уникальность спектаклей, интересные церемонии открытия, реклама в СМИ и т.д.) стало значительно увеличиваться число не только «простой», но и профессиональной публики.


Смотрите также в разделе Мелиховская весна